Portrait

Home/Portrait

Competence at the interface of economy / science

Dr. phil. Daniela M. Meier

«At the time when I set up Manda Idea Management, I also established the agency of the ETH Women Professors’ Forum under the umbrella of ETH Zurich and developed the PR-strategy to reach the internal and external dialogue groups.

During my last positions as head of a section and projects for a Federal Commission promoting innovation at the intersection of science and economy, I gathered work experience in the conception of new projects, in project management as well as in public relations. Previously, I worked for a global auditing company as Strategic Business Analyst and was responsible for the industry sectors Industrial Production and Energy. Also, I trained the staff of the company in knowledge management.

During my education I firstly made the M.A. in History, Political Sciences and West Asia studies at University of Bern. After scientific research with a SNSF-grant at the Middle East Centre of Oxford University, I received my doctorate degree in International History. Continuously, I followed professional training, such at The Swiss School for Journalism MAZ in Lucerne and as PRINCE2™ Practitioner for professional project management.»

I did voluntary engagements for several non-for-profit organizations –active in development aid, health and culture– such as a board member, and a delegate in national boards, and as the president of a Swiss academic association. Currently I serve as the president of a national patient empowerment organization.»

Publications

The idea behind the logo

«Manda comes from the Persian name Mandana. Manda amalgamates the various disciplines, areas and cultures in which I had the opportunity to gain experience. In the context of the healthcare sector, the logo visualizes technology, biology -and following the inspiration for its artistic creation- all that goes deeper into the matter.»

This visualization was among the digital artistic ornaments of Joe Bartholomew. He is a software engineer and digital artist in Portland/ Oregon USA and the designer of the series Girih Seven. Girih or Gereh ornaments are geometric star-and-polygon patterns applied in mosques in Iran between 12th – 14th century. The tiles’ elements are arranged according to the principle of self-similarity as found among fractals.

See more of Joe Bartholomew’s beautiful ornaments on his website.

© Manda Idea Management acquired the rights to use the digital ornament 14-fold Rotational Symmetry, Spiral as the logo.

Portrait

Kompetenz an der Schnittstelle Wirtschaft / Wissenschaft

Dr. phil. Daniela M. Meier:

«Parallel zur Gründung von Manda Idea Management baute ich an der ETH Zürich die Geschäftsstelle des ETH Women Professors Forum auf und ent-wickelte die PR-Strategie für die Dialoggruppen nach innen und aussen.

Meine langjährige Berufserfahrung holte ich mir in leitender Position in einer Kommission des Bundes für Innovationsförderung an der Schnittstelle Wissen-schaft und Wirtschaft, und davor sieben Jahre lang bei einer globalen Prüfungs-gesellschaft als strategische Business Analystin für die Sektoren Industrie-produktion und Energie, wo ich auch die Mitarbeitenden des Konzerns in Wissensmanagement schulte.

Während meiner Ausbildung verfolgte ich an der Universität Bern ein inter-disziplinäres Studium der Geschichte und Politikwissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt Westasien. Danach promovierte ich in Internationaler Geschichte nach einem Forschungsaufenthalt mit einem SNF-Stipendium am Middle East Center an der Oxford Universität. Später bildete ich mich stetig weiter, so an der Journa-listenschule Luzern MAZ sowie als PRINCE2™ Practitioner für Projektleitung.

Bei verschiedenen Non-for-Profit-Organisationen und Stiftungen –in den Bereichen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, Gesundheit und Kultur– habe ich mich ehrenamtlich engagiert, z.B. als Stiftungsrätin, Delegierte in Schweizer Gremien, und als Präsidentin einer akademischen Gesellschaft. Zur Zeit präsidiere ich eine nationale Selbsthilfe-Patientenorganisation.»

Publikationen

Die Idee zum Logo

«Manda ist die Kurzform des persischen Vornamens Mandana.
Unter Manda vereinigen sich die verschiedenen Disziplinen, Bereiche und Kulturen, in denen ich im Laufe des Lebens reiche Erfahrung machen durfte. Das Logo visualisiert im Kontext des Gesundheitssektors Technologie, Biologie und –in Anlehnung an seine künstlerische Inspiration– alles, was tiefer als die Materie reicht.»

Die bildliche Umsetzung dieser Idee fand sich unter den Digitalornamenten von Joe Bartholomew. Er ist Soft-wareingenieur und Digitalkünstler in Portland/Oregon USA und der Designer von Girih Seven. Girih oder Gereh-Ornamente bestehen aus geometrischen Elementen wie sie schon für die Dekoration von Moscheen in Iran im 12. bis 14. Jahrhundert verwendet wurden. Die Elemente wurden aus Fliesen (Fayence) zugeschnitten und nach dem Prinzip der Selbstähnlichkeit angelegt, wie sie bei Fraktalen zu finden sind.

Mehr wunderschöne Digitalornamente sind auf der Webseite von Joe Bartholomew zu finden.

© Manda Idea Management hat das Recht erworben, das Ornament 14-fold Rotational Symmetry, Spiral als Logo zu verwenden.